The walk, the glow and the quantum soup.

I suppose it all started some time ago down a dark country lane close to where I live whilst I was out walking the dog. The phone had just gone off with a text message from the wife and after reading it I became aware of the glow that the mobile phone screen was emitting.
Now having a science background, I knew a little about sub atomic “stuff” and had recently read (well nearly read) Stephen Hawking’s – Illustrated Brief History of Time, so I was familiar with the photon and particle interactions. I can only surmise at this point, that I must have started to wonder about all the interactions taking place right there under my nose !
As I waved the glowing phone screen round in figure of eights, I imagined all the emitted photons, the particle / antiparticle creation and annihilations and the creation of, what must have been, at least a few exotic particles.

It was wondorous!

Not only was it, in some small way, enlightening but it also served as a focus for what has become an interest, a change of job direction and a source of much personal scientific curiosity.
The term “quantum soup” came to me on that night to describe the trail of “stuff” that must have been left by the passage of the phone screen. This “soup” must surely have been incredibly short-lived but I owe it a lot and it still fires my imagination to this day.

So……….. where now?
Well ……… the door to the subatomic and quantum universe is cracked open – so lets take a peek πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Joakim Larsson

     /  May 29, 2013

    Hi! I was wondering if I could use your picture above, bubble_chamber2.jpg as a cover graphic for my upcoming dissertation? Best regards, JL

    Reply
    • Hi Joakim. Of course you can. Whats your dissertation on ??

      Reply
      • Joakim Larsson

         /  May 29, 2013

        Thank you very much! Its actually a dissertation in philosophy of education, but it happens to involve results from complexity theory as well. Unfortunately, there are very few direct references to quantum physics, but I always liked bubble chamber pictures and this one makes a great graphic addition to the front page πŸ™‚ When it is ready, I can show you the layout if you are interested πŸ™‚

        Best,
        Joakim

      • Love to see it once finished. Good luck πŸ™‚

      • Joakim Larsson

         /  May 29, 2013

        Thank you πŸ™‚ By the way, what name should I refer to as owner of photograph?
        Best, Joakim

Leave a Reply

